Saturday, September 4, 2010


ave you ever knows what the black mages are? Maybe you can easily understand what they are. They are some kind of people who can cast a spell. For people who have played Final Fantasy maybe know that black mages are a class or job in the game. Not only that, Black Mages is also a band.

Is the band having connections with Final Fantasy? Yes! Since the member of the band are the composers for the soundtrack of the game, and the composers of Square Enix, the Publisher of Final Fantasy. Maybe the name Nobuo Uematsu is familiar to Final Fantasy fans, because almost all Final Fantasy Games soundtracks were composed by him.

Black Mages itself was formed in 2002 with the personnel of the band, Nobuo Uematsu (organ), Tsuyoshi Sekito (guitar), Michio Okamiya (guitar), Kenichiro Fukui (keyboard), Keiji Kawamori (bass). And there are other member and Arata Hanyuda (drum) Their genre is instrumental Rock, Progressive Metal, Symphonic Rock, Neo Prog.

From the name we can suggest that they are arranged and played many Final Fantasy Soundtracks. That’s true. And many of the song chosen by them to be arranged and played mostly are the battle themes of Final Fantasy.

But in August 7th 2010 Nobuo Uematsu announced that the band was disbanded.
Until now Black Mages Has released three albums

The Black Mages
No. Title
1. "Battle Scene" (from Final Fantasy I)
2. "Clash on the Big Bridge" (from Final Fantasy V)
3. "Force Your Way" (from Final Fantasy VIII)
4. "Battle, Scene II" (from Final Fantasy II)
5. "The Decisive Battle" (from Final Fantasy VI)
6. "Battle Theme" (from Final Fantasy VI)
7. "J-E-N-O-V-A" (from Final Fantasy VII)
8. "Those Who Fight Further" (from Final Fantasy VII)
9. "Dancing Mad" (from Final Fantasy VI)
10. "Fight With Seymour" (from Final Fantasy X)
(donload link from Blue Laguna, Black Mages I and select the file you want to download)

The Black Mages II: The Skies Above
No. Title
1. "The Rocking Grounds" (from Final Fantasy III)
2. "Zeromus" (from Final Fantasy IV)
3. "Vamo' Alla Flamenco" (from Final Fantasy IX)
4. "Hunter's Chance" (from Final Fantasy IX)
5. "Otherworld" (from Final Fantasy X)
6. "Matoya's Cave" (from Final Fantasy I)
7. "The Man with the Machine Gun" (from Final Fantasy VIII)
8. "Maybe I'm a Lion" (from Final Fantasy VIII)
9. "Battle with the Four Fiends" (from Final Fantasy IV)
10. "The Skies Above" (from Final Fantasy X)
11. "Blue Blast — Winning the Rainbow
(donload link from Blue Laguna, Black Mages II, and select the file you want to download)

The Black Mages III: Darkness and Starlight
No. Title
1. "Opening ~ Bombing Mission" (from Final Fantasy VII – "Opening ~ Bombing Mission")
2. "Neo EXDEATH" (from Final Fantasy V – "The Final Battle")
3. "The Extreme" (from Final Fantasy VIII – "The Extreme")
4. "Assault of the Silver Dragons" (from Final Fantasy IX – "Assault of the Silver Dragons")
5. "KURAYAMINOKUMO" (from Final Fantasy III – "The Final Struggle")
6. "Distant Worlds" (from Final Fantasy XI – "Distant Worlds")
7. "Premonition" (from Final Fantasy VIII – "Premonition")
8. "Grand Cross" (from Final Fantasy IX – "The Final Battle")
9. "Darkness and Starlight" (from Final Fantasy VI – "Overture", "Aria di Mezzo Carattere", "Wedding Waltz~Duel")
10. "Life ~ in memory of KEITEN ~" (original track)
(donload link from Blue Laguna, Black Mages III and select the file you want to download)

Their another appearancer is in the soundtrack of Final Fantasy VII Advent Children, where they also makin the soundtracks of the movies.

No comments:

Post a Comment